Is this a "Minister of the Gospel"?

Those of you who know me know that I like my ministry to be positive rather than negative. What I mean by that is this: I want to be know for what I stand for, not just for what I stand against. I believe that if you know what I stand for, you’ll have a pretty good idea what I stand against. But sometimes you just gotta stand right up, name names, and call a duck a duck.

I said all that to say this: some people think I have been too hard on Joel Osteen. They say I should leave him alone, I’m just jealous because I don’t have a big church like him, I just don’t like him because I’m against everything, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

This is old news, really, I admit this, but I just have to post a link to the clip of him on Larry King Live for those who do not believe me. When asked whether one has to believe in Jesus Christ to be saved he doesn’t do what a true man of God (minister or otherwise) would and should do, which is: state emphatically, with grace but without mincing words, that Jesus Christ is the only way to God because Jesus Christ did what we could not do, namely, give himself in our place to pay the penalty we rightly deserved for our sins. No, he doesn’t do that. Instead, he bobs-and-weaves, he changes the subject, he becomes postmodern in referring to his Christian faith, he uses platitudes (“it’s not for me to judge”), he talks about his father and a trip he took to India, he refers to the importance of loving God, in fact, he does almost everything in sixty seconds but simply answer the question.

And yet, he is regarded as a “Christian” leader. Not in my book. At least he’s right that a true believer will have works and to say that you are a true believer but don’t have works is a cop-out. But then shouldn’t that be patently obvious? (I say this because it is not patently obvious to many.) But when it came to time to man-up and stand up for the truth, he didn’t do it. So much for this great Christian leader.

Anyway, enough of this old news; here’s the link: Joel Osteen on the Gospel

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in False Teachers, Joel Osteen. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is this a "Minister of the Gospel"?

  1. Arthur Sido says:

    Oddly there aren’t any Osteen or Rick Warren books in the enormous book hall at Together for the Gospel…

  2. [Note: begin sarcasm] I’m shocked! shocked! that such true men of God are not represented! This obviously means that your Calvinism runs too deep and you’re more concerned about the “frozen chosen” than about getting the gospel out or you would be willing to do anything to see true seekers come to Christ. I bet you don’t have a praise band in your church either, do you? No dramas or video clips on Sunday morning? Yep, I knew it, you’re “traditional.” You’re never going to win souls to Jesus that way. [end sarcasm]Well, maybe I’m not so shocked. Wish I was there with you and I hope you have a geat time at T4G.

Leave a Reply

