Rick Warren Critical Evaluations – Apprising Ministries

Apprising Ministries has an archive of all the articles they have done on Rick Warren to date (and links to some that others have done). This archive may be found here. I came across this while doing some research on Rick Warren and his Purpose-Driven kingdom a few weeks ago.

Apprising Ministries is run by an SBC Pastor name Ken Silva, pastor of the Connecticut River Baptist Church and serves to answer false teaching and cults. While I do not know much about Apprising Ministries, I have greatly benefited from these articles. The Rick Warren Archive at Apprising Ministries is chock-full of critical pieces done by Apprising Ministries and links to pieces done by others. They are not hateful but they are direct (blunt, even) and do not pull any punches.

I don’t want to sound like I’m against everything (like some guys I know), because I assure you I’m not, but I am more and more disturbed by Rick Warren all the time. I used to think that Rick Warren and his ilk were innocuous, not my cup of tea, for sure, but relatively harmless. My view is shifting of late and while I admit one will not find a whole lot in The Purpose-Driven Life with which to quibble on the surface (which makes it even more dangerous), I am beginning to think more and more that his whole Saddleback, Purpose-Driven, seeker-sensitive kingdom is harming rather than helping biblical Christianity.

Let me know what you think.

Maybe later I’ll add a few links to some articles that I think provide biblical alternatives to the whole PDL phenomenon.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Purpose-Driven, Rick Warren. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rick Warren Critical Evaluations – Apprising Ministries

  1. Ken Silva says:

    Hello Brother Michael,I couldn’t find an email link, but thank you for the link and kind words in the Lord. If you want to know more about AM you can read this piece and follow the link within:AM MAILBAG: WHAT ARE YOU DOING?http://www.apprising.org/archives/2008/02/am_mailbag_what.htmlI haven’t had a chance yet to update that information within into my “About” page. Also there’s much information re. Joel Osteen in my Osteen archive.For example many seem to have missed this:JOEL OSTEEN BLESSES THE MORMON CHURCHhttp://www.apprising.org/archives/2008/01/joel_osteen_ble.htmlIf you’d like to know what got me started with criticism of Rick Warren you can listen to me talk about it here:http://www.apprising.org/archives/2005/10/ken_silva_on_cr_1.htmlIf I can ever be of further service my brother you know where I am. 8^)Pastor Ken SilvaPresidentApprising Ministrieshttp://apprising.org/Ezekiel 3:7-14General EditorChristian Research Nethttp://christianresearchnetwork.com2 Corinthians 11:12-15

  2. Michael,Ken Silva has done much in the fight for truth in these sad days of compromise, and is one who will stand in the face of error. You can be assured that if you say very much along the lines of your current article that you will soon encounter Rick Warren’s bull dog, Richard Abanes. Richard makes it his job to try and dissuade anyone who would dare attempt to enlighten their fellow Christians by bringing to the light Rick Warren’s apostasy and the plight of the present day Church. Many are the ignorant who are being led away from the Gospel by false teacher, and few are the voices proclaiming the truth of the scourge that has infected the Church. although the voices of truth are few they are not without effect. Blind Christians are gaining their sight and are coming to the truth and seeing a side of the Church they never thought existed. Many more voices are needed and it is nice to see another believer take a stand. Ken is a brother who has eagerly taken to the trenches and engaged the enemy and can be depended on as a fellow soldier.Blessings to you and your family.Steve Blackwell

  3. Bro. Ken:Thank you for the kind and encouraging comments. I will recommend Apprising Ministries to those who need more information about these heresies (and others). I will also remember to check it for myself when confronting these false teachings.Steve:Thanks for the encouragement and I’m sure Ken appreciates the good words as well. Thanks also for the heads-up about Mr. Abanes. Is he an employee of the Purpose-Driven kingdom or simply a zealot? I’m curious.Blessings to you both.

  4. Arthur Sido says:

    Abanes wrote a pretty decent book on mormonism some years ago, but he has softened his stance as far as I can tell and another book on Harry Potter that seemed a little silly to me.

  5. This Open Letter to Steve Camp outlines my initial thoughts/intentions/motivation for writing to Ken Silva’s ISP. It also covers various issues relating to the “Ken Silva vs. Richard Abanes” controversy, including:1. Bible Study notes on key passages being discussed,2. the actual contents of my email to Silva’s ISP,3. observations about the current state of the church,4. an indictment of today’s so-called Online Discernment Ministries, and5. documentation of Ken Silva’s violation of federal copyright/privacy laws, and other issues.The open letter should answer most questions and addressed the widely-read article by Steve Camp titled “Battles in the Blogsphere.”This is my final word on the issue. Those who have ears to hear, and eyes to see, will both hear and see the truth.Richard AbanesPop Culture Mix

  6. ARTHUR: Abanes wrote a pretty decent book on mormonism some years ago, but he has softened his stance as far as I can tellRA: THIS IS NOT TRUE. I HAVE NOT SOFTENED MY STAND ON MORMONISM!!! Anything you hear to the contrary is an absolute lie that is being spread by various people on the Internet who disagree with my stand on Rick Warren. To try and destor my credibility, they are spreading the rumor that I have gone “soft” on Mormonism. I offer the followling post from an ex-Mormon who tried to post this message at one of those blogs that is spreading this malicious gossip:______________________________BEGINI have a few comments I’d like to add to your collection. Firstly, I think Abanes’ support of Rick Warren is wrong, period. However, his support of Warren and the “Purpose-Driven” fad has nothing whatsoever to do with his stance on Mormonism. Just because he is, in my humble opinion, biblically out of step concerning Warren, to then attack him on his stance with Mormonism is illogical as well as ludicrous. Reading your comments about Abanes’ book leads me to believe you never read it or you would not have come to the conclusion you have come to. What you show of his introduction is out of context. To begin with, Mormons should never be our foes any more than unbelievers are our foes, simply because Mormons are unbelievers themselves. They are not the enemy, rather the enemy is Satan who blinds their eyes to the truth. These are people who are deceived and who need the true gospel preached to them. You certainly don’t win them to the Lord by treating them as enemies. Did Paul consider the pagans at the Areopagus as enemies just because they worshiped false gods or did he see them as people who needed the truth? Over the years the LDS has been stronger and stronger in their apologetics defense, and if we don’t change with the times we will not be able to reach them with the truth. I know because I have worked with Mormons since becoming a Christian 34 years ago and have seen the change in the tactics of their defense. While I have been able to go with each change due to my personal knowledge, not everyone is so equipped. Richard Abanes’ book is a gold mine of information about how to deal with Mormon apologetics so as to win them to the true gospel and will equip those who are interested in saving Mormons from eternal death rather than seeing them as foes to avoid. I do not know Mr. Abanes other than as an author of books I read. You may have legitimate beefs with him for some of his “purpose-driven” teachings and support of Rick Warren, but don’t falsely represent his views on the Mormon Church. In this aspect of your article I have to say you are indeed bearing false witness._______________________________ENDThanks for allowing me to post this correction here.Richard AbanesPop Culture Mix

  7. This post was made by a message board administrator in charge of moderating the forums at crosswalk.com and christianity.com. +++++++++++++++++++++ BEGINFrom an Admin stand point I usually encourage people to use the report feature when they see someone violating our Terms of Service. One thing I have found is that the anonymity of the Internet fosters hotheadedness. Therefore, one never knows how terribly the recipient of a warning will respond. This is not to say that Mr. Silva has a tendency to that sort of behavior. (However, his response certainly does seem to indicate that it is in the realm of possibility that it would be so.)We provide a service with a Terms of Service to which everyone agrees to abide by. Outlined in that service is how we will deal with violations of our Terms of Service. Rather than our members having to deal with this sort of unpleasantness we offer to deal with the situation privately.In my opinion, a person does the right thing when he/she reports what is perceived to be a violation of our rules so that the situation can be reviewed and the appropriate action taken.I doubt that the service provider in this case lost any sleep over any perceived threats of a law suit from Mr. Abanes. Such a suit standing up in court would be near impossible.I believe, rather, that they did much the same thing I do. Look at the content and determine if it violated their rules. They found that it indeed did break their rules and sent a notice to Mr. Silva requesting that the content be removed for violations of the Terms of Service. (This is actually more than what we do in that we remove the content ourselves and notify the offender of the action taken.) In this Admin’s view Mr. Abanes did the right thing. . . .Mr. Silva should have reviewed the Terms of Service and determined if they were rules by which he wished to be governed. . . . When asked to remove the content for violations of the Terms of Service Mr. Silva should have complied as per his agreement and then considered finding a site more suitable for his style.+++++++++++++++++++++ ENDThis sums up the incident fairly well. I have nothing to add, except my 100% agreement with this administrator. As I have noted before, those who have ears to hear and eyes to see will both see and hear the truth.See his full post at my website, under Thoughts of a Web Forum Administrator: A Look At Ken Silva’s Actions R. AbanesPop Culture Mix Website

  8. terriergal says:

    A few links to where Abanes and Rick stand on Mormonism:http://truedsicernment.com/2008/03/15/rick-warren-apologist-richard-abanes-going-soft-on-mormonism-is-this-the-direction-rick-warren-is-heading/Rick Warren Tells Us How to Get to Heavenhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZwyhF5MyiyERick tells us how to please Godhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EzeETJTE1W4Rick tells us how God adores us (to an audience of unbelievers)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OvyyEIEDqrQ http://archives.cnn.com/TRANSCRIPTS/0512/02/lkl.01.htmlre mormons:KING: You sound like a Mormon.WARREN: I'm not a Mormon.KING: But that's what the Mormons preach about.WARREN: Really?KING: They help each other. They have evangelicals. They send their…WARREN: Send people out.KING: …young people out around the world.WARREN: Yes.KING: And they preach the gospel of Jesus Christ.WARREN: Well, the Catholics, of course, have been doing it for 2,000 years and the Protestants have been doing it for 500.(notice there is NO denial that Mormons preach the gospel, and he even says Catholics preach the gospel and have been for 2000 years, as if the Catholic church began when Christ said "upon this 'rock' as the legend states…and that protestants are just latecomers to the game? uhh?)http://www.alittleleaven.com/2007/05/rick_warren_wor.html "Rick Warren 'Works With' and 'Strengthens' Mormon Churches and Other Non-Christian Sects"I don't think I've heard any clear explanation of what happens if you continue to believe Mormon theology until you die, not from Warren. He's too afraid of the kickback. But he can trash those who ARE NOT ashamed of the Gospel and continually call him to the same message, as pharisees and naysayers and 'critical spirits' and 'sanballats' and whatever other name he comes up with at the moment.

Leave a Reply

