Paul Verhoeven is Now a Religious and Historical Expert

I admit right up front that this post will sound more snarky than I intend. I read this story yesterday and it stuck in my craw: ‘Basic Instinct’ Director Paul Verhoeven: Jesus Was Son of Mary and Roman Rapist. Verhoeven claims, according to this story, that his is “the most realistic portrayal of Jesus ever published.”

Of course it bothers me that someone is saying this about Jesus, but this is nothing new. In fact, this is old news; I heard this in the late 70’s or early 80’s when I was still a kid and barely knew what rape was. The idea is older than that; it’s roots are in the early 2nd century. It’s not new! Verhoeven spent 20 years writing a book to reach a conclusion that was old news (and rejected, I might add) long before the printing press was even invented.

I’m not even going to ty to defend against this claim because this yet another example of mindless speculation based on absolutely no evidence. The historical reliability of the New Testament Gospels has been demonstrated time and time again. I’m not going to beat the horse anymore. I do find it interesting that Verhoeven attended the Jesus Seminar but I can’t say that it surprises me to find that out.

What bothers me is that the Hollywood elite think that they are experts on everything. If I, a mere nobody, wanted to write a book or being a director or an actor or producer or a screenwriter, it wouldn’t matter how many books I had read about those things or how many movies I’ve seen or how much I’ve heard about the inner workings of Hollywood or how many movie sets I’ve visited the Hollywood insiders would say to me, “You don’t know what you’re talking about!” (and rightly so).

I know what I am about to say may sound elitist in its own right considering my background and eductaion but (a) it needs to be said, and (b) it’s still right. I say to Mr. Verhoeven, I don’t care how many books you’ve read (I’d be curious to see his bibliography), how long you spent researching and writing, I don’t care that you have a doctorate in mathematics and physics (I’ll concede that you’re probably very smart), but that doesn’t make you an expert on the historical Jesus. Stick to your areas of expertise just as you expect others to stick to theirs.

Here endeth the rant. On to more important things. Now, everyone take a deep breath with me…there…now…relaaaaaax. I feel better already.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Hollywood; Historical Jesus; Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

