Language Learning: Pedagogical Methods

I notice that much of the language learning I did using the older pedagogical method I have seemed to retain (and retain quite well) while much of the information learned through inductive methods is either hazy or just plain gone completely. I am sure that this has more to do with my learning style and personality than any deficiency on the part of my instructors (who were all very able and competent, I assure you).

The older style of pedagogical instruction, which emphasized rote and memorization seems to have more clearly defined goals, from the student’s perspective (and I am speaking as a student here, having no training or experience in language pedagogy). I much prefer to memorize a verb paradigm and then learn to recognize the forms in context rather than see them in context and learn where they fit into the verb chart.

Some people are able to glean things here and there and put the pieces together into a comprehensive whole, I, alas, seem to be unable to do that and must see the whole forest to understand each tree.

I also wonder if this isn’t why much of my Hebrew has disappeared since I learned it largely using the inductive method embraced by my instructor (not that he is at fault for my not learning).

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Languages. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Language Learning: Pedagogical Methods

  1. Arthur Sido says:

    Does pedagogical mean peddling a bike while wearing goggles?

  2. I’m sorry, Arthur, I’m afraid I won’t be able to answer your question without $40,000 and three nights a week watching me read my PowerPoint slides to you.

  3. Arthur Sido says:

    One night a week of you reading your powerpoint slides to me is enough!

Leave a Reply

