Link: Rapping Justification and the New Perspective

Over at Tony Reinke’s blog, which used to be called Shepherd’s Scrapbook and is now called Miscellanies (unless he’s changed it yet again), he has a track you can listen to from a new Christian rap album called The Process of the Pardon. Someone calling himself Voice (whose real name apparently is Curtis Allen) has released a new rap album with theological insights from Wayne Grudem and J. Ligon Duncan (you have to read the post).

I listened to the cut available on Tony’s site, entitled “Here I Stand” and I must say, I don’t know how he fits the birth of the Reformation, Justification, the New Perspective on Paul, Scriptural inerrancy, and biblical discernment all into four minutes. Anyway, here’s the link:

The Process of the Pardon

When I think of rap I think of Snoop Dogg and Eminem (I do live in the Detroit Area, after all), I don’t think of Reformation Theology. But apparently, Christian rap is all the rage in some Reformed circles and I have been seeing this Reformed rap more and more the last few years (I have heard that Piper has some these Reformed rappers to his church). I’m not quite sure how this marriage came about but I do admit to being puzzled by it. Maybe one day I’ll meet someone who can explain it to me.

PS – While you’re at Miscellanies, scroll down and look for the music clips on the right hand side. Check out the clip from The Valley of Vision CD called, “Let Your Kingdom Come.”

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Link. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Link: Rapping Justification and the New Perspective

  1. Arthur Sido says:

    It is kind of hard to sound like a gangsta with the name “Curtis Allen”, so I can’t blame him for going by an alias.

Leave a Reply

