The Shack versus The Pilgrim’s Progress

The worthless piece of drivel entitled The Shack will never be the next Pilgrim’s Progress, no matter what the author says (or Eugene Peterson, for whom I usually have great respect, or the publishing company or their marketing people or the emerging church guys).

God help us if the Christian community affords it the same stature (though I wouldn’t be surprised).

Check out these reviews of The Shack: (hold down the control key when you click each link and it will open in a new tab or window)

Tim Challies‘ Review of The Shack (the best review; if you’re only going to read one, this should be it) you can also download Challies‘ review of the book here in pdf and take it with you (this is a longer and more comprehensive review than the first one by Challies). Or, you can read Tim’s review at the Discerning Reader site. (This site, Discering Reader, was dead for a while but Challies has revived it. Snoop around here and you’ll find something worth reading.)

Mark Driscoll takes on The Shack (pretty good job, and I didn’t even hear any profanity)

The Shack is a Heretical Book

Deceived by a counterfeit “Jesus”

Check out the comments over at Between Two Worlds

Added (08/30/08): My friend Terry Lange pointed out that Al Mohler interacted with The Shack on his radio program and you can listen or download it here and the encore here.

Also, check out this review of So You Don’t Want to Go to Church Anymore which is co-authored by the author of The Shack and which reveals his antipathy for church and churches.

Find out more about The Shack (and read some different perspectives):

USA Today article

NY Times article

CBD and its three rave reviews

A positive review by some guy I don’t know but who makes many excuses for The Shack

A digest of reviews, positive and negative (by another guy I don’t know)

My vote: Don’t waste your time (or your money). If you can’t read the Elizabethan English of The Pilgrim’s Progress, buy a modern language edition and read it.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Books, Christian Living, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Shack versus The Pilgrim’s Progress

  1. Terry Lange says:

    Albert Mohler did a radio show and I believe an article on The Shack. When I listened to his radio show, it was the first time I had ever heard of The Shack.

  2. Hey, Terry! Hope all is well with you in MN.Thanks for letting me know about Mohler’s show; I’ll have to go back and add a link to it.I didn’t hear about The Shack until recently and it was only more recently that I realized it had become this big thing.I think I put too much faith in my fellow Christians because I never thought it would have been so big. Poor theology aside, it’s little more than a really bad novel.

Leave a Reply

