One of my favorite things about preaching…

…is when I say something like,”Notice what Jesus says in v. 4″ and I see people all over the room look down to follow along in their Bibles.

It’s not that I like getting so many people to hang on my every word; it’s that I love seeing so many people dig into the Word to find God’s Truth by carefully inspecting the text. I hope this will develop habits that they will follow when they read their Bibles at home, too.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Pastoral Ministry, preaching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One of my favorite things about preaching…

  1. Well said. It is a blessing when God’s people get into His Word.

  2. Every preacher should have that desire rather than the desire that so many have today simply to peach their own standards and beliefs rather than pointing people to God through his Word.Thanks for your comment! Hope all is well there in Cairo.

Leave a Reply

