Thankfulness For Safety and Police Help

I just returned from the church where the alarm went off at 4:15 a.m. after somebody broke into the church. The burglars took the little lock box where people put offerings for the tape ministry but I am certain there wasn’t much there (maybe a couple of dollars, certainly no more than five or six). They didn’t have time to look around because the alarm went off but if they had, they wouldn’t have found much of value and no money since we keep our money in the bank.

The police responded and searched the building but no one was there but me (by that time). Next time, though. I won’t go into the building in the middle of the night like that without waiting for the police.

Officers Porta and Piche of the Taylor Police were professional and friendly and even waited while I cut some wood and boarded up the window. When I told them how much I appreciated their help but that I hope I won’t have to see them again any time soon, Officer Porta said, “Maybe if you do, we’ll have somebody in the back seat!” Thank you, Officers, for a job well done.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankfulness For Safety and Police Help

  1. rs says:

    I am very gratefull that noone was there when you got there.It would have been just awful if anything had happened to you.I think it is sad that our church is not safe from criminal type people.

  2. Terry Lange says:

    Sorry to hear that the church was broken into. Glad that they did not get a whole lot!Praise the Lord for police and an alarm system that works!People must be desperate when they would break into a church and steal!

  3. Thanks for the comments and the kind words of concern. I praise the Lord for protecting me because I wasn’t even thinking. We have a few false alarms a few and I was just annoyed thinking it a false alarm, too.Terry, you said exactly what the police said: “desperate people.” I, too, am glad the alarm worked and scared them off. The Lutheran church up the street was broken into a few years ago and when the burglars found nothing of value, they vandalized the place, splashing paint around and cutting the seats.rs: thanks for you concern. Thankfully our church has only been broken into once before (mid-80’s, I think) and that is what brought about the installation of an alarm which certainly paid for itself Monday night.

  4. Amy says:

    Goodness, it is so sad and terrifying that someone would target a church for burglarism. I’m so thankful God kept the church and you safe!I used to do Officer Piche’s wife’s hair! Haha.

Leave a Reply

