Video – Sonseed "Jesus is My Friend"

Since I have (1) nothing that even resembles credibility and (2) only two readers, I have to post this video. It’s 2:48 long. I honestly don’t know whether to laugh (’cause it’s out there) or cry (’cause you know there was somebody who was “blessed” by it).

I heard that some people think this is a hoax and that these people were trying to make a video that looked like it was an 80’s Christian pop group. I, however, was a Christian during the mid-to-late 80’s (I came-of-age in the early 80’s) and based on what I saw then, I would not be surprised at all if this is real.
Favorite parts (or un-favorite, depending on how you look at it):

Jesus is “like a Mountie, he always gets his man / And he’ll zap you any way he can.”

“He loves me when I’m right, He loves me when I’m wrong / He loves me when I waste my time by writing silly songs.”

On a more serious note, I have spent the last few weeks in Isa. 53 in preparation for this coming Sunday’s message and I have a hard time reconciling the Suffering Servant with this video’s view of Christ.

I’m just sayin’. (And it needed to be said.)

Update (10/09/08):

Here are two guys who call “shenanigans” on the whole Sonseed thing:

Zombie Pirate Ninja Monkey – Sonseed: I’m Calling it as Fake

Idolator – Sonseed: They may be the Lonleygirl15 of Christian ska

Now please, let it go, people, let it go.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in humor, Video. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Video – Sonseed "Jesus is My Friend"

  1. Arthur Sido says:

    didn’t you wear that same leisure suit last Sunday?

  2. Yes, but I accessorized with a beautiful gold medallion.

  3. mtaulbee says:

    That’s AWSOME! I’m a little disappointed though, where was the fake chest hair at?

  4. I, for one, think there was waaaaay too much chest hair back in the 70’s.

Leave a Reply

