Kwame Sentenced. But it’s still not over.

Former Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick is being sentenced as I write this and I am listening to the streaming coverage from time-to-time as I work.

Here is my favorite line so far:

JUDGE to defense lawyer: “I trusted lawyers; that was my first mistake!”

And this, from a judge. I’m guessing he would know.

By the way, is it just me or is Kwame’s lawyer (Mr. Mateo) talking a lot without really saying anything? It could be that he’s so smart I just can’t understand him but every time I hear him speak (and I heard him when Kwame copped a plea a few months ago), I get the impression that he forgot he was supposed to do this until this morning and he’s just “winging it.” But then again, maybe that’s just his shtick.

Kudos to the male prosecutor who reminded everyone that Kwame “held this city hostage for six months” and pointed out that Kwame’s lawyer’s “don’t really want him treated like every other defendant or they’d want him put in general population.”

And when all was said and done, and Kwame had a chance to speak, what did he have to say? Absolutely nothing.

Kudos also to the Judge for pointing out Kwame’s lack of remorse, his self-serving statements, and his arrogance and hubris through this whole sordid affair, especially at his press conference after pleading guilty where he blamed everyone but himself and even hinted that Gov. Granholm was out to get him.

Further kudos to the judge for not ordering program time or early release. This because of Kwame’s “hubris” (the judge’s word) and his being involved in other criminal activity (namely, assaulting police officers) while out on bond from the first case. Note: the judge also revoked Kwame’s law license. (This appears to be worse than simply forcing him to surrender it. I don’t know the ins-and-outs of it).

I can only assume everyone else is as tired of this as I am. But we still have Christine Beatty’s trial.

The show must go on.

Update:

Read Mark Santia’s blog entry from the WDIV blog: My Time in Kwame’s Cell to see what life will be like for Kwame for the next four months. For the latest on this story check out Channel 4‘s coverage

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Metro Detroit, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

