Trusting in Christ’s Sufficiency

We think that Paradise and Calvary,
Christ’s Cross, and Adam’s tree, stood in one place;
Look Lord, and find both Adams met in me;
As the first Adam’s sweat surrounds my face,
May the last Adam’s blood my soul embrace.

So, in his purple wrapped receive me Lord,
By these his thorns give me his other crown;
And as to others’ souls I preached thy word,
Be this my text, my sermon to mine own,
Therefore that he may raise the Lord throws down.

-from “Hymn to God my God, in My Sickness”
by John Donne (1635)
About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

