Encouragement for Pastors having a Monday in Ministry

I know Mondays can be tough for those of us in ministry. Lots of pastors take Mondays off. I can understand that because Sunday is often an exhausting day. I prefer not to, however, because I’d just as soon get a jump on the week ahead. I love Mondays and look forward to getting back into the Lord’s work. Consider these things:

Monday is a New Week and a Fresh Start

Was yesterday’s attendance down? Offerings low? People complaining? Sermon less than stellar even though you worked hard on it?

I’ve been there. Over and over again. It doesn’t matter what happened yesterday, that day is done. Learn from it, put it in the Lord’s hands, then leave it behind.

Monday is the beginning of a new week. Really it is, that’s why I set every electronic calendar I use to begin the week on Monday. Monday is for looking ahead because…

Sunday’s gonna happen again in six days

God gives us 52 Lord’s Days in a year (every few years we have 53) to worship and serve him. As with any other day, some will be highs and some will be lows. Expect another Sunday to serve as if it is a gift from God because it is.

In six days you’ll get to preach the Word again. Doesn’t matter if you messed it up yesterday even though you studied hard; in six days you’ll have another chance to get it right.

Yes, some people complained yesterday, but some came because they knew you would bless them through your ministry. They’re looking for you to do it again. They prayed for you last week and they’ll be praying for this coming one, too.

You can mope around and goof off because you’re feeling sorry for yourself or you can remember that God was in that Sunday before you ever were and he wasn’t surprised by a thing. He brought you through that and he’ll bring you through this coming Sunday as well.

This new week is full of opportunities to see God at work in the body you serve and in your own life as well, which leads me to my last thought:

Attack early; attack often

You don’t know what the Lord is going to do this week. One week recently two people from our congregation died 36 hours apart. I did two huge funerals on Saturday, one at 10 am and the other at 2 pm. On Monday morning I had no idea that my week would turn out this way. I had to use every available moment to be ready for Saturday and for Sunday. I had the privilege of proclaiming hope in Christ in two venues I had not anticipated on Sunday night.

I say that to say this: You don’t know what the Lord is doing so be busy about your work. You’ve got to stay ahead because you don’t know what big plans the Lord has for you this week. The Lord has plans for you or he wouldn’t have put you in ministry. Get busy about that work with a sense of expectation and see what the Lord is going to do in someone’s life through you because you were faithful and ready to answer the call yet again.

I hope this is encouraging to you. I can’t write anymore because I’ve got work to do. I don’t know what the Lord has planned for me this week, I have to be ready and I can’t wait to see what he’s up to!

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Church Ministry, Pastoral Ministry, preaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

