One Thing to Know About the Complainers

Most complainers are going to complain no matter what you do.

That’s it. That’s the one thing.

Most complainers will complain no matter what you do.

Why is this important?

If they’re going to complain anyway, you might as well do what you want.

I don’t mean go against authority or leadership structures. I don’t mean ignore the wisdom of leaders or counselors or trusted friends.

I just mean don’t factor the complainers into your decision(s).

If they’re going to complain anyway, and if you’re going to have to hear their complaining anyway, it might as well be over something worthwhile. Besides, it’s easier and more worthwhile to endure the complaining over something beneficial that will help you achieve the goals God has set for your life or ministry.

And you never know, doing this may turn things around.

A few years ago I had had enough about a particular issue and I finally said, “Enough” and put my foot down. I was tired of giving in to the complainers.

I wasn’t nasty or rude and I didn’t even address them. I simply said, “No, we’re not doing this. No one is hijacking a church function for this that’s meaningful only to one or two people.” (The specific issue really isn’t important or relevant.)

Others tried to accommodate the complainers in other ways. They bent over backwards to accommodate them.

Finally, everyone came to realize what I had been saying all along: They’re going to complain no matter what you do because they really don’t care about you or me or this church or the cause of Christ. All they care about is themselves.

They don’t complain much anymore because now, no one will listen.

And I don’t have to hear it anymore either.

And It’s amazing how our church has grown spiritually since then.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Pastoral Ministry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

