What I’m Reading (Friday, May 17, 2013)

Here is a list of the books I am reading for edification and/or enjoyment. Note that this does not include such things as commentaries or books I am reading or using for my teaching/preaching responsibilities. These are in no particular order except that fiction is last.

Though most sensible people know this, some do not so let me issue a disclaimer right off the bat:

Just because I’m reading a particular book (fiction or non-fiction) doesn’t mean that I agree with everything in it nor does it mean that I endorse it nor does it mean I’m willing to argue the author’s point of view with you in the comments or via email.

Now, on to the list.

D. A. Carson, Collected Writings on Scripture

 

Somebody gave me this book when it first came out and though I’m sure I will read it all, I picked it up primarily because of the review in the back of John Webster’s Holy Scripture: A Dogmatic Sketch, Peter Enns’ Inspiration and Incarnation, and N. T. Wright’s The Last Word: Beyond the Bible Wars to a New Understanding of the Authority of Scripture. You don’t have to agree with Carson, but you can’t simply dismiss him.

N. T. Wright, Jesus and the Victory of God

I bought this book a few years ago, the summer when Wright wrote Justification: God’s Plan and Paul’s Vision (as a response to John Piper’s The Future of Justification). I bought it simply because I had been out of the loop while in seminary and wanted to catch up. I breezed through it, hitting the high points, and decided it was time to pick it up again and actually work through it. My choice of this one over the first and third books in the series was based solely on chapter 12, “The Reasons for Jesus’ Crucifixion,” which, I admit, I am reading while reading the rest of the book.

John Frame, The Doctrine of the Knowledge of God

A friend of mine studied under John Frame and hearing him talk about Frame made me want to dig into his works. I agreed (for the most part) with his critique of the theology of Westminster West in The Escondido Theology and really should have begun working through this series before. This is the first book in the series so it seemed like a good place to start.

Peter Enns, The Evolution of Adam

I read Enns’ Inspiration and Incarnation and really didn’t understand what the fuss was all about, though I didn’t agree with all his conclusions. I’m reading this book to see how his thinking has changed since he was forced out of Westminster and to see if any change is for better or for worse. I also am reading it to be able to interact with critiques of it and because with creation begin a hot topic right now it really is irresponsible of me not to familiarize myself with the latest literature on the issue that lies within my area of expertise (which is theology and biblical studies, not science).

John Romaniello and Adam Bornstein, Man 2.0: Engineering the Alpha

I decided recently to quit pansy-ing around in the gym and get back to the weights like I did back in the day. Much like Arnold says in the foreword (and you shouldn’t have to ask who Arnold is), these two guys are the best of the best right now. I’ve learned quite a bit so far and I’m updating my knowledge base since a lot has changed since I last picked up the weights in the late 90s. Note that there is some adult language in here so if your sensitive to that be forewarned.

George R. R. Martin, Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)

Every summer I read scifi or fantasy and several people I know have been going on and on about this series. I have not seen the show but I’m more than halfway through this novel and it is as good as anything I’ve read in a while.

Suzanne Collins, Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, Book 3)

I saw the movie because I was bored one night, it was free on Amazon Prime, and I wondered what the fuss had been all about. Obviously I liked it enough to read the book and both the book and movie have many connections to what is going on in our society now. I’ve just started this one and I admit, it’s hard to put down.

Read any good books yourself lately? I’d love to hear about them and a good recommendation will surely end up on my reading list.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

