Pope visits the US. Talks about….climate change?!

So the Pope comes to the US and his first official visit is to the White House. That’s understandable. But then the bulk of his comments have to do with climate change?!

No mention of Christians being persecuted around the world, especially those persecuted in places like North Africa or Syria where such persecution is an indirect (or direct, depending on your views) result of American foreign policy?

So it’s left to President Obama to talk about the persecution of Christians.

I guess shouldn’t even be surprised at anything anymore.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pope visits the US. Talks about….climate change?!

  1. jay-dubbya says:

    I’ll agree that he should have probably touched on more topics (human trafficing, abortions, the desacralizing of marriage etc…) but I’m always confused as to why we as evangelicals don’t talk more about climate change or engage our culture about it.

    You seem to be almost dismissing the pope because he engages the notion that we be better stewards of the earth?
    “The nations were angry, and your wrath has come. The time has come for judging the dead, and for rewarding your servants the prophets and your people who revere your name, both great and small– and for destroying those who destroy the earth” Revelation 11:18.
    “The earth is the Lord’s and everything in it” Psalm 24:1

    I might just be frustrated that we as Christians have not been more outspoken on the subject of taking care of our planet as much as I would like us to be.

    • Nowhere in this post did I say that climate change is unimportant but if the pope only has a few minutes for remarks upon his first visit to the US, do you not think there were more important things he could have talked about?

      • jay-dubbya says:

        Yes, of course. But can you name another prominent figure in the church who has engaged the culture on climate change as the Pope just did?
        I can think of one popular sermon from Tim Keller that engaged the subject but that’s about it.

      • I’m not disagreeing with you that he’s talked a lot about it but was that really THE most important thing for him to talk about on his FIRST visit to the US?

  2. jay-dubbya says:

    I don’t know why the pope did not talk about anything else. I think the fact that you could not name another prominent figure in the church who has discussed climate change might be an indication that the pope feels that this is the most important thing for him to discuss at that moment.

    • Well, obviously, he thought that the was the most important thing to discuss in that moment or he wouldn’t have discussed it.

      I, however, disagree. Hence my post.

      And now the conversation is back where we started.

      • jay-dubbya says:

        But in that conversation, I had asked a question. You never did answer me.

      • I never answered your question because your question was beside my point. But if it makes you happy, no, I cannot “name another prominent figure in the church who has engaged the culture on climate change as the Pope just did?” There. Satisfied?

        My original point, from this post, still stands: I don’t think that was the most important thing he could have talked about.

  3. jay-dubbya says:

    I answered “Yes, of course” when you asked, “are there more important things to talk about?” From my point of view, the reason why evangelicals do not engage their culture on climate change is that they do not believe it is an important issue at all.

Leave a Reply

