John Newton: Thoughts on the Anniversary of His “Deliverance”

This is from John Newton (the author of the hymn, “Amazing Grace”) on the anniversary of his conversion (March 21, 1776):

The anniversary of my great deliverance in 1748 calls for my grateful acknowledgement.…

I remember when I stood trembling, to appearance upon the brink of eternity, and thought it impossible I could live a quarter of an hour. Since that memorable day thou hast added twenty-eight years to my life.…

My time is shortening apace. O that the remainder may be spent for thee. Be my Shepherd, my Saviour, my all, and may all that I have and am be devoted to thee and employed for thee.

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.