Best. Footnote. Ever.

Like many involved in scholarly work, I, too, despise endnotes. I have yet to hear from anyone a compelling reason why publishers can’t do them except that they really don’t want to.

Anyway, this is the best footnote ever!

This is from Michael V. Fox. 1987. Hebrew Studies 28:6-8.

Source: Christian Brady at Targuman

HT: Timothy Dalrymple

About Michael R. Jones

Pastor and PhD candidate writing on Paul's theology of suffering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Best. Footnote. Ever.

  1. Very fun! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Ultimatum to Publishers « Green Baggins

  3. Dan Phillips says:

    I would only reword the first clause thus: “Like all decent people…”

    Seriously, I don’t even know why this is still up for debate, though clearly it is. It was among the first things I established for both my books: they must have footnotes, not endnotes. I have never heard and cannot conceive a single cogent, defensible argument for endnotes.

    Not that I have an opinion about the matter, mind you.

    • Thanks for the comment, Dan! And, obviously, I’m right there with you.

      I enjoy and am edified by your blog, by the way. I’m looking forward to using your book on Proverbs later this year when I work through Proverbs.

      Grace and peace to you.

  4. INC says:

    That is great. Even those of us who aren’t involved in scholarly work don’t like endnotes. There are many times I’m curious about who the author is citing or else I want more information on his conclusion, but then I have to scramble to the end of the book, search out the chapter and wade through the endnotes. Even worse is when the chapter has no name, only a number, and then I have to go back and find the number of the chapter I’m reading. I’ve found a lot of good things in reference notes, and since software has taken away the pain of footnotes, I agree that it’s time to end the endnote.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.